Bush Legends Bush Legends

KENYA

Kenya is said to be the place where safari tourism was born. Wildlife can wonderfully be observed in one of the numerous Game Reserves such as for example the Masai Mara Game Reserve, which is the showplace of the annually ‘Great Migration’. With its appealing coastal region, Kenya also offers stunning beach holiday options.

Why Kenya

What to expect

Masai Mara Game Reserve

The Masai Mara is well known for its grassy landscapes and savannahs typical of Africa. By choosing the ‘right’ lodge you can enjoy wonderful wildlife observation. This game reserve, together with the neighbouring Serengeti in Tanzania, is a perfect place to experience a grand safari, since it is the showplace of the annual great migration of animals.

Indian Ocean

The 480 km palm-lined coast on the Indian Ocean is a unique idyllic setting for an outstanding holiday. Here you can experience luxurious sea-side living. Carefully picked accommodations are suitable for bigger families, also including several generations, as they offer a plenty of space and comfort. We could certainly also organise the perfect romantic lodge for your honeymoon. Due to the coral reefs off shore, the ocean is enjoyable to swim in. Waves are usually small and the temperature pleasant.

Laikipia Plateau

The largest private Game Reserve in Kenya offers a strong contrast to the Masai Mara. It is characterized by vast hilly landscapes and acacia trees, which embody the typical ‘Out of Africa’ image you may know from movies about Africa. At a distance you see the snowy summit of Mount Kenya. Laikipia is also well-known for the various activities that can be undertaken. Whether it is walking safaris, horse riding safaris, mountain biking, camel riding, cultural encounters or a sleep-out – it offers something for everyone.

Wildlife Leopard in tree EL
Coast Alfajiri Cliff Villa View
Mara Plains Walking
Wilderbeest Landscape WL

Special Information

Although Mount Kilimanjaro is situated in Tanzania, you see this impressive mountain even better from the Kenyan side. The Chyulu Hills is a mountain range in the southern part of Kenya. It is approximately 100 km long and up to 2.200 m high and consists of many small volcanoes and solidified streams of lava. Attractions are the many lava caves in this area, which can be delightfully explored on horseback.

Kenya is known as the birth place of safari tourism. Even though the image of the country was, due to different reasons, not the best in recent years, you can experience exceptional holidays with professionally arranged tours here, as well as very unique safaris.

Did you know…

the population in Kenya is very diverse? It consists of over 40 different cultural groups who differ strongly from each other, both culturally and linguistically. The most common tribes are the Kikuyu and the Luo. The Kikuyu are at home in the Kenyan Highlands and mainly live from farming. The Luo tribe lives near the Victoria Lake. Other ethnic groups include the Luyia, Gusii, Embu, Meru, Kamba, Taita and Taveta.

Insider’s Tip

Ol Donyo Lodge in the Chyulu Hills is a true hidden in my eyes. Surrounded by scenic hills and located between Tsavo and Amboseli National Park, it offers a spectacular view of Mount Kilimanjaro when weather conditions provide clear visibility. Special highlights during my visit here were a horse safari through the vast plains of the private concession area as well as the exciting sleep-out in a so called star bed on the roof of our suite.

Tours

In Kenya we purely arrange fly-in safaris. Since roads are in poor conditions, this is the best way to reach remote areas quickly and comfortably. We also recommend a combination of safari and beach, since Kenya offers both safari areas as well as wonderful beaches. There is also a great 18-hole golf course at the coast.

Be inspired for your journey HERE. We would gladly contact you to discuss your individual expectations and are looking forward to being your professional partner for the organisation of your travel arrangement to Africa.

ABOUT KENYA

Official Name:

Jamhuri ya Kenya (Swahili); Republic of Kenya

Currency:

1 Shilling (KSH) = 100 Cent

Capital:

Nairobi

Total land surface:

580.367 km² (World rank 46), thereof 29% forest, 4% farmland, 6% pasture land

Expansion:

West-East: 850 km, North-South: 1.000 km

Population:

29,55 million.

Official Language:

Swahili; English

Largest Cities:

Nairobi (1.504.900), Mombasa (465.000), Kisumu (185.100), Nakuru (162.800), Machakos (92.300)

Climate

:

Generally Kenya can be toured throughout the year, whereby one should consider the rainy seasons. Kenya has tropical to hot climate at the coast and temperate climate in the highlands. The capital Nairobi and most of the National Parks lie at a height of approx. 1.600 m above sea level, which makes most of the visitors appreciate the climate there as pleasant. At the coast the rain is at its peak between April and June with an average day temperature around 28°C. The driest and warmest months in the coastal area are January and February with an average day temperature of 32°C. In the highlands the rainy season is from April to June and short rains again in November. Mostly there are short and heavy rains in the evenings or at night, but no non-stop rain like in Europe. The lowest average daytime temperature in Nairobi is around 21°C in July and the highest average temperatures are around 26°C in February / March. The nights in the highlands as well as in Nairobi get chilly.

Cottars´ 1920 Camp

Alfajiri Cliff Villa

CORONA UPDATE | Our client information READ MORE
+

Bush Legends Bush Legends

KENYA

Kenya gilt als die Geburtsstätte des Safari Tourismus. Die Wildtiere lassen sich wunderbar in einem der zahlreichen Wildreservate beobachten, wie z.B. dem Masai Mara Wildreservat, welches Schauplatz der jährlichen Tierwanderung ist. Kenya eignet sich mit seinen anmutenden Küstengebieten auch wunderbar für einen Strandurlaub.

Warum Kenya

Was Sie erwartet

Masai Mara Wildreservat

Die Masai Mara ist bekannt für ihre weiten afrikanischen Gras- und Savannenlandschaften. Mit der Auswahl der ‚richtigen‘ Unterkünfte können Sie hier in den Genuss ganz wunderbarer Tierbeobachtungen kommen. Als Schauplatz der jährlichen Tierwanderung durch die Masai Mara und die benachbarte Serengeti in Tanzania besticht dieses Wildreservat als exzellentes Gebiet für herausragende Tierbeobachtungen.

Indischer Ozean

Die 480 km lange, von Palmen gesäumte Küste am Indischen Ozean ist ein wahres Urlaubsidyll des Landes. Hier lässt sich exklusives ‚Sea Side Living‘ erleben. Ausgesuchte Unterkünfte sind ideal für Familien geeignet, auch mit mehreren Generationen, denn sie bieten viel Platz und Komfort. Auch für Hochzeitsreisende gibt es hier ausgezeichnete romantische Unterbringung. Durch die vorgelagerten Korallenriffe lässt es sich hier baden, die Strömung und die Wellen sind üblicherweise eher schwach und die Temperaturen angenehm.

Laikipia Plateau

Das größte private Wildgebiet in Kenya bietet einen starken Kontrast zur Masai Mara. Es zeichnet sich durch Szenerien mit weitläufigen Hügellandschaften und Akazienbäumen aus, die von so manchem Afrika Film als ‚Out of Africa Image‘ in Erinnerung sind. In einiger Entfernung sieht man die teils schneebedeckten Gipfel des Mount Kenya. Laikipia zeichnet sich auch dadurch aus, dass sich hier abwechslungsreiche Aktivitäten unternehmen lassen. Von geführten Fußsafaris, Reitsafaris und Ausflügen auf dem Mountain Bike bis hin zum Kamelreiten und Übernachtungen im Freien findet hier jeder etwas für seinen Geschmack.

Wildlife Leopard in tree EL
Coast Alfajiri Cliff Villa View
Mara Plains Walking
Wilderbeest Landscape WL

Besonderheiten

Der Kilimanjaro liegt zwar in Tanzania, sehen lässt sich dieses eindrucksvolle Bergmassiv jedoch öfter von der kenyanischen Seite aus.

Die Chyulu Hills sind eine etwa 100 km lange und bis zu 2.200 m hohe Gebirgskette in der südlichen Region des Landes. Sie bestehen aus kleinen Vulkanen und erstarrten Lavaströmen. Eine Attraktion bieten hier die zahlreichen Lavahöhlen, die man gut bei Reitsafaris erkunden kann.

Kenya gilt als Geburtsstätte des Safari Tourismus. Auch wenn das Image des Landes wegen diverser Gründe recht angeschlagen ist, so lassen sich hier mit gekonnten Kombinationen ausgezeichnete Reisen wahrnehmen, übrigens auch sehr exklusive Tierbeobachtungen.

Wussten Sie, dass…

die Bevölkerung Kenyas sehr vielfältig ist? Sie setzt sich aus über 40 ethnischen Gruppen zusammen, die sich sowohl sprachlich als auch kulturell stark voneinander entscheiden. Die beiden bedeutendsten und am meisten vertretenen Völker sind die Kikuyu und die Luo. Die Kikuyu wohnen im kenyanischen Hochland und leben hauptsächlich vom Ackerbau. Die Luo hingegen leben in der Gegend nahe des Victoria Sees. Andere ethnische Gruppen sind die Luyia, Gusii, Embu, Meru, Kamba, Taita und Taveta.

Mein Geheimtipp

Die Ol Donyo Lodge in den Chyulu Hills ist für mich ein wahrer Geheimtipp. Von einer wunderschönen Hügellandschaft umgeben und zwischen dem Tsavo und Amboseli Nationalpark gelegen, bietet sich bei klaren Sichtverhältnissen ein wunderschöner Ausblick auf den Mount Kilimanjaro. Ein Ausritt zu Pferd durch die offenen Ebenen des privaten Konzessionsgebietes sowie eine aufregende Übernachtung im Sternenbett auf dem Dach der Suite waren besondere Highlights während meines Aufenthaltes in der Ol Donyo Lodge.

Touren

In Kenya nutzen wir für unsere Touren ausschließlich Flüge zwischen den verschiedenen Safaristationen. Da die Straßen in einem schlechten Zustand sind, können Sie auf diese Art die verschiedenen Nationalparks bequem miteinander kombinieren. Außerdem bietet sich eine Kombination aus Safari und Strand an, da Kenya sowohl ausgezeichnete Safari Gebiete wie auch traumhafte Strände vorweisen kann. Übrigens gibt es hier an der Küste auch einen 18-Loch Golfplatz

Lassen Sie sich von unserer Best Moments Tour inspirieren. Wir rufen Sie gern für die Absprache Ihrer individuellen Vorstellungen an und freuen uns, Ihr professioneller Partner für die Organisation Ihres Reisearrangements nach Afrika sein zu dürfen.

ÜBER KENYA

Offizieller Name:

Jamhuri ya Kenya (Swahili); Republic of Kenya

Währung:

1 Shilling (KSH) = 100 Cent

Hauptstadt:

Nairobi

Landesfläche:

580.367 km² (Weltrang 46), davon 29% Wald und Buschland, 4% Ackerland, 6% Weide

Ausdehnung:

West-Ost: 850 km, Nord-Süd: 1.000 km

Bevölkerung:

29,55 Mio.

Offizielle Sprache:

Swahili, Englisch

Größte Städte:

Nairobi (1.504.900), Mombasa (465.000), Kisumu (185.100), Nakuru (162.800), Machakos (92.300)

Klima:

Grundsätzlich kann man Kenya das ganze Jahr bereisen. Zu beachten sind die Regenzeiten. Es bietet an der Küste tropisch warmes bis heißes Klima, im Hochland gemäßigte Temperaturen. Die Hauptstadt Nairobi sowie die meisten Nationalparks liegen auf ca. 1.600 m Höhe, daher wird das Klima dort von den meisten Besuchern als ausgesprochen angenehm empfunden. An der Küste regnet es von April bis Juni am heftigsten, die Temperaturen liegen im Tagesdurchschnitt bei 28°C. Die trockensten und wärmsten Monate sind an der Küste Januar, Februar mit durchschnittlichen Tagestemperaturen von 32°C. Im Hochland findet die Regenperiode von April bis Juni und kurz im November statt. Dabei gibt es überwiegend abends und nachts heftige Schauer, jedoch keinen Dauerregen. Niedrigste durchschnittliche Tagestemperaturen in Nairobi im Juli ca. 21°C, die höchsten liegen im Februar, März bei 26°C. Die Nächte können in Nairobi und im Hochland recht kühl werden.

Cottars´ 1920 Camp

Alfajiri Cliff Villa

CORONA AKTUELL | Danke für Ihre Wertschätzung! WEITERLESEN
+