Bush Legends Bush Legends

ZAMBIA

Zambia counts as an idyll for the repeat safari traveller. Here the beauty of landscapes and mighty rivers could be experienced in different ways. Exploring this deep wilderness during a boat safari is an absolute highlight and nice contrast to the classic safari experience. Since Zambia is also considered the home of the guided ‘walking safaris’, you could experience safari in this format as much as you could enjoy exciting game drives in open safari vehicles.

Why Zambia

What to expect

South Luangwa National Park

This National Park in the east of the country is said to be the most important game preserving area in Africa. Here you experience unique and pristine wilderness. It is therefore particularly suited for travellers who have already been to Africa. The highest wildlife concentration is usually found at the Luangwa River and in the lagoons during peak season. Walking safaris have its beginnings in this National Park. Even until today, this area offers the most exciting possibilities to experience unspoiled nature in close proximity.

Lower Zambezi National Park

Lower Zambezi National Park offers a very special contrast to the conventional game reserves. The majestic Zambezi River is the natural border between Zimbabwe and Zambia and creates a fantastic atmosphere. This is the perfect place to pause and relax. Enjoy a scenic boat trip on the Zambezi River with the mountain ranges in the background, which is an added bonus to the already beautiful scenery.

Parrots WL
Elephants WL
Leopard WL
Lion WL

Special Information

In the South Luangwa National Park there is the possibility of partaking in a walking safari over several days. This is a chance to experience an authentic safari, whilst being on walking trails for several days with a professional guide. During such a walking safari you become part of your surroundings. Some of the privately owned high quality villas in Zambia are perfectly suited for bigger families and also to celebrate a special anniversary in the family.

Zambia is mainly visited between April and October. A lot of camps are closed during the summer months, which equals the rainy season. However, some of the camps offer special projects during the summer for guided photo safaris or journeys with focus on birds.

Did you know…

one of the birds living in Zambia is called a bee-eater? There are many different subspecies. Most of them are characterized by a richly coloured plumage. As the name suggests, they predominantly eat flying insects, which are caught in the air. A specialty of these birds is their nesting place. They make their nests in burrows tunnelled into the side of sandy banks, often at rivers. This is why you can often see a whole colony of these wonderful birds around rivers. Their burrows are between one and a half and two meters long.

Insider’s Tip

The Lower Zambezi National Park next to the majestic Zambezi River offers unique and breathtaking landscapes as well as ideal opportunities for wildlife viewing. Visitors can expect diverse safaris with activities on the water as well as on land. A boat trip on the partly crystal clear Zambezi River to catch tiger fish was really impressive.

Tours

Would you like to extend your safari in Zambia with a beach stay? We could then recommend Lake Malawi. The 560 km long and 50 km wide lake offers a beach holiday of a different kind. It is located between Tanzania, Malawi and Mozambique and offers various activities, also for water sports enthusiasts. You could do snorkelling, kayaking, diving, swimming or sailing in this crystal clear water.

Be inspired for your journey HERE. We would gladly contact you to discuss your individual expectations and are looking forward to being your professional partner for the organisation of your travel arrangement to Africa.

ABOUT ZAMBIA

Official Name:

Republic of Zambia

Currency:

1 Kwacha (ZMK) = 100 Ngwee

Capital:

Lusaka

Total land surface:

752.618 km² (World rank 38), thereof 38% forest, 7% farmland, 47% pasture land

Expansion:

West-East: 1.300 km, North-South: 800 km

Population:

8,98 million

Official Language:

English

Largest Cities:

Lusaka (982.362), Ndola (376.311), Kitwe (348.571), Mufulira (175.025)

Climate:

Zambia has 3 different seasons. During the rainy season from November/December until April it is warm and humid with temperatures ranging from 25 – 40°C. In the dry season from May until August it is cool and dry with temperatures of between 15 – 20°C. It is hot and dry from September until November with temperatures of between 25 – 35°C. The months June until October are best for observing animals in the Luangwa Valley and during the rainy season (December – April), migrating birds from Europe are entering the country.

.

Chinzombo Camp

Chiawa Camp

CORONA UPDATE | Thank you for your appreciation ! READ MORE
+

Bush Legends Bush Legends

ZAMBIA

Zambia gilt als Idylle für vielbereiste Safari Experten. Erleben Sie die Schönheit der Landschaften und mächtigen Flüsse, die Sie während einer Bootsfahrt erkunden können. In Zambia sind die ‚Walking Safaris‘ beheimatet, so dass Sie sich auf eine ganz andere Arte der Safari freuen können.

Warum Zambia

Was Sie erwartet

South Luangwa Nationalpark

Dieser im Osten des Landes gelegene Nationalpark gilt als bedeutendes Wildschutzgebiet in Afrika. Hier lässt sich überaus ursprüngliche Wildnis erleben. Er ist daher auch speziell für Afrika Wiederholer eine Empfehlung. Die Konzentration der Wildtiere findet in der Hochreisezeit besonders am Luangwa Fluss und den zahlreichen Lagunen statt. Hier im Nationalpark fanden die Walking Safaris ihre Entstehung. Auch heute noch bietet sich hier eine der spannendsten Möglichkeiten, die unberührte Natur aus nächster Nähe zu erleben.

Lower Zambezi Nationalpark

Dieser Nationalpark bietet einen ganz speziellen Kontrast zu gängigen Wildgebieten. Der majestätische Zambezi Fluss bildet die natürliche Grenze zwischen Zimbabwe und Zambia. Dieser Fluss vermittelt auf seine ganz eigene herrschaftliche Weise ein traumhaftes Ambiente, welches zum Ausspannen und Verweilen einlädt. Wunderschöne Bergketten erstrecken sich in der Entfernung entlang des Horizonts und verschönern die ohnehin anmutende Szenerie bei Bootsausfahrten auf dem Zambezi.

Parrots WL
Elephants WL
Leopard WL
Lion WL

Besonderheiten

Im South Luangwa Nationalpark bieten sich bei Interesse mehrtägige Wandersafaris an. Dabei begibt man sich auf eine Art der ursprünglichen Safari und ist mehrere Tage mit den erfahrenen Guides auf sogenannten ‚walking trails‘ unterwegs. Bei einer solchen Walking Safari tritt man mehr oder weniger aus der Position des ‚Zuschauers‘ heraus und wird in gewisser Hinsicht Teil des Naturschauspiels.

Einige private und hochwertig ausgestattete Häuser in den Wildgebieten Zambias eignen sich hervorragend für Reisen mit größeren Familien, um vielleicht auch ein bestimmtes Jubiläum im Kreise der Familie feierlich zu würdigen.

Zambia lässt sich überwiegend zwischen April bis Oktober bereisen. Viele Camps haben für den lokalen Sommer, welcher hier der Regenzeit entspricht geschlossen. Einige bieten jedoch während des lokalen Sommers spezielle Projekte für geführte Fotosafaris oder Reisen mit Schwerpunkt Vogelbeobachtung an.

Wussten Sie, dass…

einer der einheimischen Vögel in Zambia der Bienenfresser (Bee Eater) ist? Es gibt mehrere Unterarten in dieser Familie. Die meisten fallen durch ihr äußerst farbenfrohes Federkleid auf. Wie der Name schon sagt, ernährt sich dieser Vogel hauptsächlich von Bienen oder anderen fliegenden Insekten, die er im Flug fängt. Das Besondere an den Vögeln sind ihre Nistplätze. In Kolonien graben Sie Bruthöhlen an Hängen oder an Steilufern, so dass oftmals an Flussläufen ganz entzückende Gruppen dieser wunderschönen Vögel zu beobachten sind. Diese Bruthöhlen sind im Durschnitt eineinhalb bis zwei Meter lang.

Mein Geheimtipp

Der Lower Zambezi Nationalpark am majestätischen Zambezi Fluss gelegen, bietet eine einzigartige und anmutende Szenerie sowie herrliche und ursprüngliche Tierbeobachtungen. Den Besucher erwartet eine abwechslungsreiche Safari mit Aktivitäten zu Wasser und auf dem Land. Eine Bootstour auf dem teilweise kristallklaren Zambezi zum Tigerfischen hat mich besonders beeindruckt.

Touren

Haben Sie nach einer Safari in Zambia noch Lust auf Strand? Dann können wir Ihnen den Lake Malawi empfehlen. Der 560 km lange und durchschnittlich 50 km breite See bietet einen Strandurlaub der etwas anderen Art. Dieser See liegt zwischen Tanzania, Malawi und Mozambique und lädt mit einer Vielzahl an Aktivitäten durchaus auch aktive Wassersportler ein. Hier können Sie in glasklarem Wasser schnorcheln, schwimmen, Kajak fahren oder segeln.

Lassen Sie sich von unserer Best Moments Tour inspirieren. Wir rufen Sie gern für die Absprache Ihrer individuellen Vorstellungen an und freuen uns, Ihr professioneller Partner für die Organisation Ihres Reisearrangements nach Afrika sein zu dürfen.

ÜBER ZAMBIA

Offizieller Name:

Republic of Zambia

Währung:

1 Kwacha (ZMK) = 100 Ngwee

Hauptstadt:

Lusaka

Landesfläche:

752.618 km² (Weltrang 38), davon 38% Wald und Buschland, 7% Ackerland, 47% Wiesen und Weiden

Ausdehnung:

West-Ost: 1.300 km, Nord-Süd: 800 km

Bevölkerung:

8,98 Mio.

Offizielle Sprache:

Englisch

Größte Städte:

Lusaka (982.362), Ndola (376.311), Kitwe (348.571), Mufulira (175.025)

Klima:

Zambia hat 3 verschiedene Jahreszeiten. In der Regenzeit von November, Dezember bis April ist es warm und feucht bei Temperaturen von 25 – 40°C. In der Trockenzeit von Mai bis August ist es kühl und trocken bei Temperaturen von 15 – 20°C. Heiß und trocken ist es von September bis November bei Temperaturen von 25 – 35°C. Im Luangwa Tal ist die Trockenzeit (Juni – Oktober) ideal für Tierbeobachtungen. Während der Regenzeit (Dezember – April) kommen die Zugvögel aus Europa ins Land.

Chinzombo Camp

Chiawa Camp

CORONA AKTUELL | Unsere Kundeninformation WEITERLESEN
+