Bush Legends Bush Legends

MOZAMBIQUE

Mozambique is well known for its long stretched coastline, seemingly endless sandy beaches, a vibrant culture and fantastic beach accommodation. Spend unforgettable days on one of the small islands off the coast, with all the luxury needed to make it a distinguished ‘barefoot’ beach holiday, either after a safari or as a beach holiday all on its own.

Why Mozambique

What to expect

Quirimbas Archipelago

This archipelago with around 30 coral islands lies in the Indian Ocean off the North of Mozambique. The southern part of this idyllic archipelago is part of the Quirimbas Marine National Park. Most of the islands are not inhabited, overgrown with mangroves and washed by the sea. Some of the islands developed into exquisite holiday paradises with small luxurious resorts, like Vamizi Island or Azura Quilalea. This area is a perfect hidden gem for water sport and diving enthusiasts, but without the tourist crowds known at other diving destinations of the world.

Bazaruto Archipelago

Approximately 20 km from the mainland and the quant seaport of Vilanculos, you find the 4 main islands Benguerra, Bazaruto, Magarugue and Santa Carolina stretching over an area of about 60 km. The helicopter flight from the main land to your lodge is impressive and offers a breathtaking view over the islands and coral reefs. Enjoy several days of utter relaxation on white beaches and by the azure blue ocean. Activities such as snorkelling, diving, fishing or boat trips are also on offer here.

Vamizi Lounge
Benguerra Lodge beach
Vamizi Beach Yoga
Vamizi Island Dhow

Special Information

You could also enjoy a splendid beach holiday on the mainland of Mozambique. White Pearl Resorts is an equally recommendable beach destination and is situated a mere 30 minutes flight south of Maputo. The long sandy beaches are perfect for extended beach walks with stunning views. With some luck, you might even spot dolphins or whales off the shore.

On the cultural side we recommend a visit to Ibo Island, which is part of the Quirimbas Archipelago. As early as 600 AD, traders established a trading post on this island, which developed to the second most important Portuguese trading post in Mozambique. Today you can visit several ruins of fortresses, walk on historical tracks and visit silversmiths as well as artisans.

Did you know…

the colours of the Mozambican flag all have a special meaning? The green stripe represents agriculture, whereby the black stands for Africa, as the black continent. The yellow symbolises the mineral riches for the country and the two white stripes in the middle signify peace and justice. The red triangle on the left represents the struggle for independence against colonialism. In the triangle there is a star symbolizing Marxism, a book which stands for education, a rifle symbolising the willingness to defend and a pick which represents the country’s agriculture.

There are various species of turtles inhabiting the coast and islands of Mozambique. On Vamizi Island, you can find the largest recorded population of green turtles in Mozambique. The nesting and breeding period is between July and December and after an incubation period of around 50 days the hatchlings emerge at night and slowly make their challenging way to the ocean.

Insider’s Tip

The south coast of Mozambique offers endless, secluded beaches, wonderful remoteness and an unspoiled coastal landscape. I was particularly impressed by a boat trip along the coastline, because our boat was accompanied by dolphins and I had the privilege to observe a humpback whale at close range.

Tours

A stay in Mozambique is the ideal beach vacation after a safari. However, these paradisiacal islands and beaches of the mainland are also wonderful destinations for a beach holiday all on its own. This romantic beach delight is likewise the perfect spot for an extraordinary honeymoon.

Find inspiration for your journey HERE and HERE. We would gladly contact you to discuss your individual expectations and are looking forward to being your professional partner for the organisation of your travel arrangement to Africa.

ABOUT MOZAMBIQUE

Official Name:

República de Moçambique (Portugiesisch); Republic of Mozambique

Currency:

1 Metical (MZN) = 100 Centavos

Capital:

Maputo

Total land surface:

801.590 km² (World rank 34), thereof 18% forest, 4% farmland, 55% pasture land

Expansion:

North-South: 2.000 km, West-East: 50 km up to 600 km

Population:

11,529 million

Official Language:

Portuguese

Largest Cities:

Maputo (931.591), Beira (298.847), Nampula (250.473)

Climate:

A tropical and subtropical climate prevails throughout the country with three climate zones to be specified. The zone with the highest rainfall is in the north and central part of the country. Furthermore there is a dryer region to the south as well as a colder middle zone with rainfalls in the higher mountains. The northern and central areas are influenced by hot air flowing from the equator. It becomes very hot during the rainy season between November and April (especially in December and January). The influence of the Monsoons from the Indian Ocean can cause heavy storms and rainfalls during this season. The average temperatures during the rainy season vary between 28° C and 31° C. More moderate rain and lower temperatures prevails in the winter months between May and October with average temperatures varying from 20° C to 25° C.

Azura Benguerra

Vamizi Island, Villa Kipila

CORONA UPDATE | Our client information READ MORE
+

Bush Legends Bush Legends

MOZAMBIQUE

Mozambique besticht durch eine lange Küste, unendliche erscheinende Sandstrände, eine lebendige Kultur und traumhafte Strandunterkünfte. Verbringen Sie unvergessliche Tage auf einer der kleinen Inseln vor der Küste des Landes, mit allem Luxus der einen unvergesslichen ‚Barefoot‘ Strandurlaub ausmacht – im Anschluss an eine Safari oder als reinen Badeurlaub.

Warum Mozambique

Was Sie erwartet

Quirimbas Archipel

Der Archipel mit etwa 30 Koralleninseln befindet sich im Norden von Mozambique. Der südliche Teil dieses idyllischen Inselarchipels gehört zum Quirimbas Marine Nationalpark. Die meisten der Inseln dieses Archipels sind unbewohnt, vom Meer umspült und von Mangroven bewachsen. Einige der Inseln haben sich zu einem exklusiven Urlaubsparadies mit beeindruckenden kleinen Resorts entwickelt, wie zum Beispiel Vamizi Island oder Azura Quilalea. Taucher und Wassersportler kommen in diesem Gebiet ganz auf ihre Kosten, und das ohne Touristenrummel, den man vielleicht von anderen Tauchdestinationen kennt.

Bazaruto Archipel

Etwa 20 km vor dem Hafenstädtchen Vilanculos befindet sich der 60 km lange Bazaruto Archipel mit seinen vier Hauptinseln Benguerra, Bazaruto, Magaruque und Santa Carolina. Allein der Flug mit dem Helikopter vom Festland zu Ihrer Inselunterkunft ist beeindruckend und bietet wunderbaren Überblick über die Inseln und Korallenriffe. Genießen Sie einige Tage völlige Entspannung an weißen Sandstränden und azurblauem Wasser. Erholung, lange Strandspaziergänge oder auch Bootsausflüge bieten sich hier an.

Vamizi Lounge
Benguerra Lodge beach
Vamizi Beach Yoga
Vamizi Island Dhow

Besonderheiten

Ein wunderbarer Strandaufenthalt lässt sich in Mozambique auch auf dem Festland wahrnehmen. Lediglich 30 Minuten Flugtransfer südlich von Maputo gibt es mit White Pearl Resorts ebenfalls ein empfehlenswertes Strandresort. Die langen Sandstrände sind ideal für ausgedehnte Strandspaziergänge. Wenn Sie Glück haben, sehen Sie sogar Delfine oder Wale von der Küste aus.

Für kulturell Interessierte bietet sich ein Tagesausflug nach Ibo Island im Quirimbas Archipel an. Auf dieser Insel wurde bereits 600 n. Chr. ein Handelszentrum errichtet, so dass diese Insel damals zum zweitwichtigsten portugiesischen Handelszentrum in Mozambique wurde. Heute kann man dort die Ruinen vieler Festungen bestaunen, auf geschichtlichen Spuren wandeln und Silberschmieden wie auch Kunsthandwerker besuchen.

Wussten Sie, dass…

alle Farben der Nationalflagge eine besondere Bedeutung haben? Der grüne Streifen steht für die Landwirtschaft, der schwarze für Afrika, den schwarzen Kontinent und der gelbe für den Erzreichtum des Landes. Die beiden weißen Streifen in der Mitte stehen für Gerechtigkeit und Frieden. Das rote Dreieck links erinnert an den revolutionären Kampf gegen den Kolonialismus. Im Dreieck befindet sich ein Stern (Zeichen für den Marxismus), ein Gewehr als Zeichen des Verteidigungswillens, eine Hacke (Stellvertretend für die Landwirtschaft) und ein Buch als Zeichen der Schulbildung.

An der Küste und auf den Inseln leben verschiedene Arten von Schildkröten. Eine davon ist die grüne Schildkröte, deren größte Population auf Vamizi Island beheimatet ist. Zwischen Juli und Dezember ist die Nest- und Brutzeit. Nachdem die kleinen Schildkröten in der Nacht schlüpfen, begeben sie sich auf ihre erste herausfordernde Wanderung in Richtung Meer.

Mein Geheimtipp

Die Südküste von Mozambique bietet einsame und lange Sandstrände, herrliche Abgeschiedenheit und eine ursprüngliche Küstenlandschaft. Besonders beeindruckt hat mich hier eine Bootstour entlang der Küste, welche von Delfinen begleitet wurde und mir zudem die Beobachtung eines Buckelwals aus nächster Nähe ermöglichte.

Touren

Ein Aufenthalt in Mozambique bietet sich ideal als Strandverlängerung nach einer Safari an. Auch als reiner Badeaufenthalt lassen sich diese paradiesischen Inseln und Strände am Festland wunderbar erreichen. Für besondere Hochzeitsreisen sind die romantischen Stranddestinationen dieses Landes in jedem Fall hervorragend geeignet.

Lassen Sie sich im Bazaruto und im Quirimbas Archipel inspirieren. Wir rufen Sie gern für die Absprache Ihrer individuellen Vorstellungen an und freuen uns, Ihr professioneller Partner für die Organisation Ihres Reisearrangements nach Afrika sein zu dürfen.

ÜBER MOZAMBIQUE

Offizieller Name:

República de Moçambique (Portugiesisch); Republic of Mozambique

Währung:

1 Metical (MZN) = 100 Centavos

Hauptstadt:

Maputo

Landesfläche:

801.590 km² (Weltrang 34), davon 18% Wald und Buschland, 4% Ackerland, 55% Wiesen und Weiden

Ausdehnung:

Nord-Süd: 2000 km, West-Ost: 50km bis zu 600 km

Bevölkerung:

11,529 Mio.

Offizielle Sprache:

Portugiesisch

Größte Städte:

Maputo (931.591), Beira (298.847), Nampula (250.473)

Klima:

Es herrscht tropisches und subtropisches Klima mit drei zu beachtenden klimatischen Einteilungen. Die Zone mit häufigem Regen im Norden und Zentrum des Landes, eine trockenere Zone im südlichen Teil des Landes sowie die mittlere kältere Zone in den höher gelegenen Bergen mit Regen. Die nördlichen und zentralen Regionen stehen unter Einfluss heißer Luft von Äquatorgebieten. Sehr warm wird es in der Regenzeit zwischen November und April (besonders im Dezember und Januar). Durch den zusätzlichen Einfluss des Monsuns vom Indischen Ozean kann es in dieser Zeit Stürme und zum Teil heftige Regengüsse geben. Die Durchschnittstemperaturen in der Regenzeit bewegen sich zwischen 28° und 31°. Gemäßigter Regen und Temperaturen um 20° – 25° C herrschen in den Wintermonaten zwischen Mai und Oktober vor.

Azura Benguerra

Vamizi Island, Villa Kipila

CORONA AKTUELL | Unsere Kundeninformation WEITERLESEN
+