Bush Legends Bush Legends

NAMIBIA

Namibia is a country filled with contrasts, where the word ‘vastness’ gains a completely new meaning. Experience the red sand dunes of the Namib Desert, the impressive moon landscape, endless expanses, striking mountain and hill formations as well as stunning safari experiences at the filled saltpans of the Etosha National Park.

Why Namibia

What to expect

Namib Desert

This desert occupies an area of about 95.000 km² and is one of the rare coastal deserts in the world, as it stretches for more than 2.000 km along the Atlantic coast. Since 2013, big parts of the desert belong to the UNESCO world heritage sites. A lot of animals and plants have adapted to the aridity and incredible heat.

Sossusvlei

Sossusvlei is a salt and clay pan, which is surrounded by sand dunes and located in the southern part of the Namib Desert. Only in years blessed with a lot of rain, the pans get filled with water and form a lake. The surrounding orange sand dunes impress with their size and rank among the highest dunes in the world. Marvel at the highest dune here, which is 380 meters tall.

Etoscha

The Etosha National Park in the North of Namibia offers excellent wildlife observation. Especially in the dry season between June and November, the animals can easily be spotted flocking to the waterholes. Etosha National Park is also famous for its 4.760 km² salt pan. It is especially beautiful to see the picturesque contrast of colours when the pan is partly filled with water and a multitude of birds form the soundscape.

Swakopmund

The city with the biggest German influence in Namibia has a lot of sights to offer, which can be traced back to the colonial history of this city with its 44.000 inhabitants. If you are looking for a contrast to the desert as well as the fascinating landscapes and animals, you can wonderfully observe and admire the inhabitants of the ocean during a boat trip, take a stroll through the shops or visit one of the cafés in this city.

Zebra EL
Leopard EL
Namibia Desert From Sky EL
Namibia Scenery Köcherbaum EL

Special information

Considering the size of the country, the National Parks and attractions are often very far apart. We therefore recommend saving time with fly-in safaris in small airplanes.

Have you already been to Namibia and are looking for something new and off the beaten track? Then we recommend a journey with emphasis on the Caprivi. This tropical paradise lies in the far north of the country and shows a ‘green Namibia’. Because this area has water in abundance, you could also enjoy a scenic boat ride here to observe the wildlife.

Did you know…

there are more than 25 languages spoken in Namibia? The 7 official languages, apart from English and Afrikaans, are Oshiwambo, Otjiherero, Nama, Damara and German. Furthermore there are plenty of other African languages or dialects which are spoken by different cultural tribes. One of the most widely spoken languages is Afrikaans, which is also common in other Southern African countries. This language has its origins from Dutch, which is why Germans can usually understand it a little bit.

Ellen Spielberger von Bush Legends

Insider’s Tip

For a special experience of Namibia I recommend a privately guided tour, travelling through this impressive country in a comfortable Q7 accompanied by a highly professional local guide. In this way you receive first hand information, see a lot of the country and its people and at the same time enjoy a flexible, comfortable and safe transport. Should you feel the desire to enjoy a good Espresso in the midst of this beautiful landscape, then that could also be arranged with this mode of travel.

Tours

Namibia is the perfect country to combine with other countries in Southern African. Should you wish to combine the desert experience with lifestyle, culinary delights and selected wines, a subsequent stay in Cape Town and the surrounding Winelands lends itself perfectly.

Be inspired for your journey HERE. We would gladly contact you to discuss your individual expectations and are looking forward to being your professional partner for the organisation of your travel arrangement to Africa.

ABOUT NAMIBIA

Official Name:

Republic of Namibia

Currency:

1 Namibia Dollar (NAD) = 100 Cents; NAD ist gleichwertig zum ZAR

Capital:

Windhoek

Total land surface:

824.292 km² (World rank 33), thereof 22% forests, 64% pasture land

Expansion:

West-East: 1.450 km, North-South: 1.300 km

Population:

1,695 million

Official Language:

Englisch

Largest Cities:

Windhoek (125.000), Swakopmund (15.500), Rundu (15.000), Rehoboth (15.000), Keetmanshoop (14.000)

Climate:

The climate is significantly shaped by the influence of the trade winds and is mostly hot and dry. The average yearly rainfall in the Namib Desert is about 51 millimetres. In the interior of the country it advances from South (152 millimetres) to North (559 millimetres). The greatest rainfalls occur in summer (October until March). On the coastline the annual average temperature is 16,7 °C and in the interior of the country it is 21,1 °C.

Okonjima Villa

Mushara Outpost

Wolwedans Boulders Camp

CORONA UPDATE | Our client information READ MORE
+

Bush Legends Bush Legends

NAMIBIA

Namibia ist ein Land voller Kontraste, in dem das Wort ‚Weite‘ zudem eine völlig neue Bedeutung erlangt. Erleben Sie die roten Sanddünen der Namib Wüste, die beeindruckende Mondlandschaft, endlose Weiten, imposante Berg- und Hügelformationen sowie bezaubernde Safari Erlebnisse an den gefüllten Salzpfannen des Etoscha Nationalparks.

Warum Namibia

Was Sie erwartet

Namib Wüste

Die 95.000 km² große Trockenwüste ist eine der wenigen Küstenwüsten der Welt, da sie direkt an der Küste des Atlantiks beginnt. Seit 2013 gehören große Teile der Namib zum UNESCO Weltnaturerbe. Viele Tiere haben sich der Trockenheit und enormen Hitze angepasst.

Sossusvlei

Innerhalb der Namib Wüste liegt diese von Sanddünen umgebene Salz-Ton-Pfanne. Nur in äußerst regenreichen Jahren bildet sich hier ein See. Die umliegenden orangefarbenen Sanddünen beeindrucken durch ihre Größe, denn sie zählen zu den größten Dünen der Welt. Bestaunen Sie die mit 380 m höchste Düne in diesem Gebiet.

Etoscha

Der Etoscha Nationalpark im Norden Namibias bietet exzellente Tierbeobachtungen. Besonders in der Trockenzeit von etwa Juni bis November lassen sich die Tiere wunderbar an den Wasserlöchern beobachten. Bekannt ist der Etoscha Nationalpark auch durch seine 4.760 km² große Salzpfanne. Es bieten sich besonders malerische Eindrücke, wenn die großen Pfannen mit Wasser gefüllt sind und unheimlich schöne Farbkontraste entstehen lassen mit der zwitschernden Geräuschkulisse zahlreicher Vögel.

Swakopmund

Die Stadt mit dem wohl größten deutschen Einfluss in Namibia hat viele Sehenswürdigkeiten, die auf die Kolonialgeschichte der 44.000 Einwohner Stadt zurückzuführen sind. Wer einen Kontrast zu Wüste, beeindruckender Landschaft und Tieren wünscht, kann hier wunderbar die Bewohner des Meeres bei einer Bootsfahrt bewundern oder in den Boutiquen bummeln und die Café’s der Stadt besuchen.

Zebra EL
Leopard EL
Namibia Desert From Sky EL
Namibia Scenery Köcherbaum EL

Besonderheiten

Durch die Größe des Landes liegen die Sehenswürdigkeiten bzw. Nationalparks sehr weit auseinander. Hier bietet es sich an, mit Fly-In-Safaris in kleinen Flugzeugen Zeit zu sparen.
Sind Sie schon einmal in Namibia gewesen und möchten vielleicht etwas Kontrast zu bereits Bekanntem kennenlernen? Dann empfehlen wir Ihnen eine Reise mit Schwerpunkt auf den Caprivi. Dieses Tropenparadies ist im äußersten Nordosten des Landes gelegen und zeigt das ‚grüne Namibia‘. In dieser wasserreichen Region können Sie die Wildnis auch während idyllischer Bootsfahrten auf sich wirken lassen.

Wussten Sie, dass…

in Namibia ungefähr 25 verschiedene Sprachen gesprochen werden? Die 7 offiziellen Landessprachen sind neben Englisch noch Afrikaans, Oshivambo, Othjiherero, Nama, Damara und Deutsch. Darüber hinaus gibt es zahlreiche afrikanische Sprachen und Dialekte, die von verschiedenen Gruppen und Stämmen gesprochen werden. Eine der am meisten gesprochenen Sprachen ist Afrikaans, was auch in anderen Ländern des südlichen Afrikas gesprochen wird. Diese Sprache entstand aus dem Holländischen und ist deshalb meist sogar ein bisschen zu verstehen.

Ellen Spielberger von Bush Legends

Mein Geheimtipp

Für ein Namibia Erlebnis der besonderen Art empfehle ich eine privat geführte Tour, bei welcher Sie in einem komfortablen SUV mit ausgezeichneter lokaler Reiseleitung durch dieses beeindruckende Land gefahren werden. Auf diese Weise bekommen Sie Informationen aus erster Hand, sehen viel von Land und Leuten und können gleichzeitig flexiblen, sicheren und vor allem komfortablen Transport genießen. Und falls Ihnen unterwegs inmitten dieser herrlichen Landschaft nach einem guten Espresso ist, so lässt sich bei einer solchen Reise auch dieser Wunsch verwirklichen.

Touren

Namibia lässt sich auch gut mit anderen Ländern des Südlichen Afrikas verbinden. Wollen Sie das Wüstenerlebnis vielleicht mit Lifestyle, kulinarischen Genüssen und ausgewählten Weinen kombinieren, bietet sich ein anschließender Aufenthalt in Kapstadt und den Weingebieten Südafrikas an.

Lassen Sie sich von unserer Best Moments Tour inspirieren. Wir rufen Sie gern für die Absprache Ihrer individuellen Vorstellungen an und freuen uns, Ihr professioneller Partner für die Organisation Ihres Reisearrangements nach Afrika sein zu dürfen.

ÜBER NAMIBIA

Offizieller Name:

Republic of Namibia

Währung:

1 Namibia Dollar (NAD) = 100 Cents; NAD ist gleichwertig zum ZAR

Hauptstadt:

Windhoek

Landesfläche:

824.292 km² (Weltrang 33), davon 22% Wald, 64% Wiesen und Weiden

Ausdehnung:

West-Ost: 1.450 km, Nord-Süd: 1.300 km

Bevölkerung:

1,695 Mio.

Offizielle Sprache:

Englisch

Größte Städte:

Windhoek (125.000), Swakopmund (15.500), Rundu (15.000), Rehoboth (15.000), Keetmanshoop (14.000)

Klima:

Das Klima wird maßgeblich durch den Einfluss der Passate geprägt und ist im Allgemeinen heiß und trocken. Die durchschnittliche jährliche Niederschlagsmenge liegt in der Namib bei 51 Millimetern. Im Landesinneren nimmt sie von Süden (152 Millimeter) nach Norden (559 Millimeter) zu. Die größte Niederschlagsmenge fällt im Sommer (Oktober bis März). An der Küste beträgt die Temperatur im Jahresdurchschnitt 16,7 °C, im Landesinneren 21,1 °C.

Okonjima Villa

Mushara Outpost

Wolwedans Boulders Camp

CORONA AKTUELL | Unsere Kundeninformation WEITERLESEN
+